The Arkansas legislature just voted to cut concealed carry permit fees in half, from $100 to $50, and license renewal fees from $50 to $25. Some in the governing body hope other states will take the cue, as crimes rates continue to fall amid growing firearm possession and freedoms. The question is, will the governor sign it?
Yesterday's vote passed by a wide margin — by 70 to 18, with several Democrats also approving the measure.
The Arkansas State Police released an estimate of $1.2million that the state's revenues would be negatively impacted by the reduced fees, but no one yet in the government to actually complain about it not being worth it. That figure will also likely be mitigated somewhat by greater numbers of concealed carriers now likely to be getting licenses, up from the 224,000 presently in the state.
As for Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, he said in a statement that he supports the idea so we're confident that he'll sign the bill when it gets to his desk.